Discipline: Humanities

Topic: Literature


Israeli Prose in the Sixties


This 5-volume series discusses aspects common and unique to the prose of three leading writers, Amos Oz, A.B. Yehoshua, and Amalia Kahana-Carmon, and examines trends in their writings from the 1960s to the 1970s. The early works of each writer are studied in contrast to characteristic Israeli prose of the 1950s. The series analyzes the ways in which writing patterns change, and the process of transition from one literary norm to another.


Volume 1 (Nurith Gertz, 1982, 160 pp., cat. # 10246-1)

Part 1: Moshe Shamir: He Walked Through the Fields

Parts 2-3: Amos Oz: Where the Jackals Howl, and Other Stories (three stories: “Where the Jackals Howl”, “Nomad and Viper”, “The Trappist Monastery”)

Volume 2 (Nurith Gertz, 1982, 148 pp., cat. # 10246-2)

Part 1: Amos Oz: My Michael

Part 2: Amos Oz: Unto Death (“Late Love” and “Unto Death”)

Volume 3 (Nurith Gertz, 1982, 200 pp., cat. # 10246-3)

Part 1: A.B. Yehoshua: The Death of the Old Man; two stories: “The Yatir Evening Express”, “Flood Tide”

Part 2: A.B. Yehoshua: Facing the Forests, two stories: “Facing the Forests”, “The Continuing Silence of a Poet”

Part 3: A.B. Yehoshua: Early in the Summer of 1970

Volume 4 (Hanna Herzig, 1983, 244 pp., cat. # 10246-4)

Part 1: Amalia Kahana-Carmon: Under One Roof

Parts 2-3: Amalia Kahana-Carmon: And the Moon in the Valley of Ayalon

Volume 5: The transition from the “Palmach Generation” to the 1960s (Nurith Gertz, 1983, 56 pp., cat. # 10246-5)

For additional information, contact the Rights and Permissions Department.